The Twelve Qualities of The Mother
Compiled by Pritesh, maker of the Gratitude app
Early this year, I happened to visit this incredible place and township called Auroville on the east coast of India. Auroville has its origins in the French language, "Aurore" meaning dawn and "Ville" meaning city. It was founded in 1968 by Mirra Alfassa (known as "the Mother"). The symbol that you see above is the symbol of the Mother. The central circle represents the Divine Consciousness. The four petals represent the four powers of The Mother. The twelve petals represent the twelve powers of the Mother manifested for Her work.
The Twelve Qualities of The Mother
1. Sincerity
Be wholly sincere, never try to device others. And try never to deceive yourself.
To be sincere is to be pure. As Sri Aurobindo tells us, ‘Desire nothing but the purity, force, light, wideness, calm, Ananda of the Divine Consciousness, and its insistence to transform and perfect your mind, life and body.’
2. Humility
Humility is that stage of consciousness in which, whatever the realization, you know the infinite is still in front of you.
True humility is humility before the Divine. It is a precise, exact, living sense that one is nothing, one can do nothing, understand nothing without the Divine...
Even if one is exceptionally intelligent and capable, this is nothing in comparison with the Divine Consciousness.
3. Gratitude
The ego thinks of what it wants and has not. This is its constant preoccupation. The soul is aware of what it is given and lives in endless gratitude.
There is nothing which gives you a joy equal to that of gratitude. One hears a bird sing, sees a lovely flower, looks at a little child, observes an act of generosity, reads a beautiful sentence, looks at a setting sun – no matter what – suddenly, this kind of emotion comes upon you so deep, so intense, that the world manifests the Divine, that there is something behind the world which is the Divine.
4. Perseverance
Perseverance breaks down all obstacles.
The road of yoga is long. Whatever method is used, persistence and perseverance are essential.
Yoga like this needs patience, because it means a change, both of the radical means and of each part and detail of our nature.
5. Aspiration
The taste for supreme adventure is aspiration, an aspiration that takes hold of you completely and flings you without calculation and without reserve and without any possibility of withdrawal, into the great adventure of the divine discovery, the great adventure of the divine meeting, the yet greater adventure of the divine realization.
6. Receptivity
Flowers are very receptive and they are happy when they are loved.
This means... to receive the Divine Force…and allow it to work, guiding one’s sight, will and action.
There must be a complete and never-failing assent, a willingness to let the Divine Power do with us whatever is needed for the work that has to be done.
7. Progress
Do not think of what you have been, think only of what you want to be and you are sure to progress.
The very first condition of inner progress is to recognise whatever is or has been a wrong movement in any part of our nature – wrong idea, wrong feeling, wrong speech, wrong action – and by wrong is meant what departs from the truth, from the higher Consciousness and the higher Self, from the way of the Divine. Once recognised, it is offered to the Divine for the Light and Grace to descend and substitute for it the right movement of the true Consciousness.
8. Courage
Whosoever is courageous can give courage to others, just as the flame of one candle can light another.
As Sri Aurobindo says: ‘The forces that stand in the way of the sadhana – the spiritual discipline – are the forces of the lower mental, vital and physical nature. Behind them are the adverse powers of the mental, vital and physical worlds... All I say is, keep the mantra of success, the determination of victory, the fixed resolve... and go bravely on with your yoga... The inner doors will open.’
9. Goodness
Your heart is the home of a luminous goodness; let it govern your whole being.
One should not be good with an interested motive…. One should not be good so that others may be good to you. It is always the same lesson: One must do as well as one can, the best one can, but without expecting a result. One must be good for the love of goodness.
10. Generosity
Nobleness and generosity are the soul’s ethereal firmament: Without them, one looks at an insect in a dungeon.
It is to give unstintingly, selflessly, without bargaining or any expectation. It is to give for the joy of giving. It is an opportunity that the Divine gives us for the liberation of the ego and the servitude to self-indulgence, replacing it by the joy of participation in the divine work upon earth, for a true and beautiful and harmonious equipment and ordering of a new, divinised mental, vital and physical existence in whatever way the Divine Mother herself decides in her creative vision.
11. Equality
Someone who knows how to mile in all circumstances is very close to true equality of the soul.
The very first necessity for spiritual perfection is a perfect equality... The perfect equality of our Spirit and nature is a means by which we can move back from the troubled and ignorant outer consciousness into the inner kingdom of heaven and possess the Spirit’s eternal kingdoms of greatness, joy and peace...
12. Peace
Feel the peace, know the peace, be the peace, the peace, the peace...
In the liberation of the soul from the Ignorance, the very first foundation is peace, calm, the silence and quietude of the Eternal and Infinite...
A consummate power and greater formation of the spiritual ascension takes up this peace of liberation into the bliss of a perfect experience and realisation of the eternal beatitude, the bliss of the Eternal and the Infinite.